To buy or not to buy - seeking advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To buy or not to buy - seeking advice

Hey, noob here. Been lurking for a couple weeks doing research before taking the plunge. I've got a EB I'm looking at and wanted to get some thoughts from those who know a hell of a lot more than I do.

Here's the deal.

'74 sport, 302, C4, uncut and pretty much all stock with a couple upgrades
    Power steering/brakes, front brakes converted to disk
    no hard top, soft top in good condition, bikini top
    factory roll bar, interior is in good shape, paint is decent

Rust
    - about 2x2 area on the cowl, under hood
    - half-dollar sized spot at end of dash/door frame, probably related to spot above
    - quarter sized spot on one of the door frames, strike side
    - a couple small spots under the side molding on rear fender
    - undercarriage is good, was coated several years back
    - floorboards appear good

ODO reads 46K, assuming it turned over, at least once
    Drives strong, engine runs well, electonic ignition, and he just had a couple things replace (water pump, harmonic balancer, hoses, etc.)

He's asking $5900, but he'll take a little less. Thoughts? Other things I need to look at. All help is appreciated.

Also, he's only the 2nd owner (about 9-10 yrs) and it was his DD up until about a year ago when he bought a new truck.

And of course, some pics.

Comment

If that really is all of the rust, I say grab it for sure! Looks like a real nice rig. Should be worth his asking price easy.

Comment

That is a nice looking rig. I think the question(s) you have to ask yourself are the following:

1. What do you want to do with this rig?
        2. How much rust can you live with and/or fix?
        3. Are you happy with a stock, carbureted, original drivetrain?