What was your teenage job?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What was your teenage job?

Some of the responses in Mark's "leaving the nest" thread got me thinking about all the jobs I've worked since I was a teenager - and a similar conversation at work this afternoon sprung up... so what was your first job?

I had a paper route in 5th and 6th grade and since then I've never been without some form of job (aside from a couple breaks while in college).

When the paper route ended I went to work for a neighbor who had a landscaping and gardening business. Cash under the table and violating child labor laws I'm sure... but through most of Jr. High and HS I was digging sprinkler ditches, laying sod, pushing mowers and being a general purpose grunt in the 100 degree Livermore summers and part time gardening during the school years.

At 16 I worked in a restaurant until I turned 18 and they started giving me tons of closing shifts... As an 18 year old the last thing I wanted to be doing was working until midnight or 1am every Friday and Saturday night. From 18 to 21 I worked in a hardware store stocking shelves and helping customers.

I didn't work during the school year after transferring to Cal Poly. My first summer back from SLO, I went to a temp agency and got a "gopher" job at a financial services company where I made friends with the VP of Information Systems, and got an internship there the next summer as an IT technician. He couldn't afford me when I graduated otherwise I'd have probably gone back there full time. I now work for a huge computer company.

Scary to think at 36 I've worked in some form or another for the better part of 21 years!
    1970 Bronco
    My build thread

Re: What was your teenage job?

Originally posted by CityHick View Post