Another 5.0 EFI questions...thread

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another 5.0 EFI questions...thread

I'm totally new to the 5.0 swap deal...and fairly dumb when it comes to engines. I can fab and weld and build suspensions and all that, but to date I've been running my old reliable 302 with a two barrell...but its tired.

So here's the question...I've located a very clean 5.0 EFI (On Pleneum SP?) in a 1989 Lincoln Town Car. The milage is 37K and the car's condition matches the oddometer. Will this engine swap to an EB? I'm sure its an Auto and I have a manual...problem? I can get the thing dirt cheap and will take everything: wiring, computer, all accessories...basically everything forward of the flywheel.

Guide me...where should I get info. What do I need. I know about the flywheel and water pump...not much else. Can anyone tell me this version of the 5.0 won't work...meaning the Lincoln Town Car from 1989.

Help me out...???

Marlon
    Last edited by NOTPRETTY; 10-04-2006, 04:27 PM.
    Don't worry about it...its mostly glass...will be fine...

I went to the woods to live deliberately...

Carpe' Dium

Marlon,

I think Ryan McCormick (Ford Fuel Injection.com) wrote a series of articles Bronco Driver (maybe issues #6 through #10) about donor motors. It was called "Injecting your horse". It was a 5 part article, and one part listed the donor cars, and sort of ranked their computers. I think an 89 Lincoln is Speed Density, not Mass Air Flow. I also remember something about the intake being a little tall.

Maybe someone else will chime in here and shed some more light.

Galen
    Originally posted by 71BRONCO71 at Buck Island 6/25/11
    I can do that so much better myself..........1, 2, 3 GOODNIGHT!!!

Comment