Steering column bearing?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Steering column bearing?

Well while removing my steering column extension from the column to the steering box I found out that the lower bearing in the steering column is loose. There is no balls in the bearing! I have never tried to remove the bearing before. Any advise? Not sure how to get the rag joint end off the shaft either.
    Thanks in advanced,
    PS I did a search and found nothing.
    1974EB 302v8, NP435, dana 20 twinstick, dana 44, 9 inch Detriot Locker's, 4.88 gears, front disk, Rockbox, wild horses 4.5 inch lift, 4 wheel Warn Full Floater, 35 Super Swamp Bogers.

Re: Steering column bearing?

What do I have to do to get a answer? Hope this helps.:-)
    http://www.full-breasts.com/0906/11/...fiachair10.jpg
    1974EB 302v8, NP435, dana 20 twinstick, dana 44, 9 inch Detriot Locker's, 4.88 gears, front disk, Rockbox, wild horses 4.5 inch lift, 4 wheel Warn Full Floater, 35 Super Swamp Bogers.

Comment

I think I have to pull the column then pull the shaft from the bottom to get the lower bearing off. I looked at the diagram hear. http://broncograveyard.com/dia/6/clmdia.jpg

Comment

If you disconnect the steering shaft (going to the steering box) you can pull the bearing out from the bottom leaving the column shaft in place. Depending on what type of steering shaft you have you may have to loosen the column or steering box to get it off.
        69, 342 EFI, C4, NP203, D20, 4.5" SL, 2" BL, 4.88 9" 35 spline ARB, 4.88 HP D44, WAH, ARB, CTM's, front disc , 37 x 14.50 Toyo MT, Ram Assist, and rear 4-link

Comment

Randy,