New. building my 4" strech.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New. building my 4" strech.

For starters my build is a 68 thats main purpose is a trail capable show truck. I am a painter by trade & have built several people award winning show cars & now its my turn. Its time to get cut'n grind'n & weld'n for Me.
    I knew I was going to replace to 1/4s any way so first thing, off with the lower 1/4s to get access to the factory spot welds for the inner tubs. On my Bronco somenoe had installed the extreme rear shock hoop & thats just not for me. I have a wife & 2 kids plus our favorite Aunt Stacer that is always with me, So I need the room in side.
    My plan is replace the front of the tubs with used ones from Glenn in Fallon NV, & move the rear of the exsiting ones back 4". I cut the "new" ones 1 1/2''
    behind the tall part of the rear rib,& the exsisting ones 4" in front of that. I left the original front tank filler cover to make a littel less work.
    So far I have about 6 hours in to it & everthing is removed & the driver side is mocked in to place. By drilling out the spot welds & doing it this way I am able to sand blast the pinch weld area free of rust & my job will look factory.
    I will post more pics after I am all done.
    Attached Files

Re: New. building my 4" strech.

Looks like fun. Welcome to the land of wanting a little extra room. There are 3 of us that I know of here all looking at stretching some. Glenn is a nice guy we have traded a lot of parts. Good luck I will have to watch how this progresses.

Comment

Looking great. If you are going full width on the axles you can narrow up your rear wheel tubs about three inches per side to gain more room inside also. Just a thought.
      Marc D.
      If you drive with rage, drive a cage.

Comment

Originally posted by kawikevin250 View Post
        I will post more pics after I am all done.